Lin-Manuel Miranda’s ‘Hamilton’ Garners 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Drama


Lin-Manuel Miranda’s hit musical extravaganza – Hamilton has officially become the ninth musical in history to be awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

This came as no surprise when considering the immense success and nationwide adulation that has been bestowed on Hamilton since its debut at the Public Theater in New York City last February.


The critically praised offering seemed to herald all the requirements to warrant such an honor as confirmed by the awards committee, “For a distinguished play by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.”

The historically propelled show draws inspiration from Ron Chernow’s biography Alexander Hamilton and uses the themes to produce a multi-layered and multi-cultural version of events with the assistance of varied musical genres including rap, hip-hop and pop. The aptly diverse cast also adds a level of intrigue and cultural advancement that propels the overall message of social inclusion for those that have always been carelessly marked as “castaways.”

The Pulitzer board exclusively gave Hamilton major praise by describing the Broadway blockbuster as “a landmark American musical about the gifted and self-destructive founding father whose story becomes both contemporary and irresistible.”

Miranda is the master behind the gem due to his brilliant literary attributes that is evident in the fact that he wrote the book, music and lyrics for the show while also casting himself in the title role. A daunting task for sure, but the multi-talented star managed to pull it off effortlessly – and with enviable results.

Hamilton has grossed up to $65 million to date  – due to advance ticket sales that placed the esteemed musical ahead of competitors past and present.

Miranda came close to winning the prestigious award back in 2009 when he was a Pulitzer finalist with co-author Quiara Alegria Hudes for In the Heights.

The other finalists in contention for the 2016 drama award were Branden Jacobs-Jenkins’ Gloria and Stephen Karam’s .